Skip to content
Prokofiev's Piano Sonatas


Prokofiev's Piano Sonatas

Sale price$35.00
Sold out
SKU: 9780300275360




Pickup currently unavailable at Juilliard Store

Prokofiev's Piano Sonatas

Juilliard Store

Pickup currently unavailable

144 West 66th Street
New York NY 10023
United States



A Guide for the Listener and the Performer

by Boris Berman

An authoritative guide to Prokofiev’s nine piano sonatas by the pianist and teacher Boris Berman
Boris Berman, renowned concert pianist and teacher, is one of the world’s foremost authorities on Sergei Prokofiev. In this book, he draws on his intimate knowledge of Prokofiev’s work to guide music lovers and pianists through the composer’s nine piano sonatas. These cherished works, composed between 1910 and 1951, are today considered an indispensable part of the repertoire of every serious concert pianist.
The book, written with a deep appreciation of Prokofiev’s style and creativity, looks at the sonatas within the context of Prokofiev’s complete oeuvre. Berman provides general information about each sonata and a discussion of the composition’s details and features, and he offers suggestions for interpretation and specific advice for performing. Berman also corrects for the first time various misprints in published scores and includes a helpful glossary of musical terms.