Skip to content
Mozart Piano Quartets K 478 and K 493


Mozart Piano Quartets K 478 and K 493

Sale price$48.95
SKU: 51480196
Pickup available at Juilliard Store Usually ready in 2 hours

Mozart Piano Quartets K 478 and K 493

Juilliard Store

Pickup available, usually ready in 2 hours

144 West 66th Street
New York NY 10023
United States

It is hardly imaginable today, but the Viennese public of Mozart's time was unable to appreciate the beauties of Mozart's Piano Quartet K. 478. It was not accustomed to the dramatic g minor character – especially of the first movement – coming from this composer. And thus it came about that the publisher Hoffmeister refused to print any further quartets; after K. 478, Mozart wrote only the E flat major Quartet K. 493, although a series of six works had originally been planned. What a pity! Today the two piano quartets rank among the landmarks of Mozartian chamber music and continue to enjoy a great status.