Skip to content
Milhaud 1st Sonata For Viola And Piano

Hal Leonard Publishing Corp - 7935

Milhaud 1st Sonata For Viola And Piano

Sale price$41.30
SKU: 48187485



Instrument: Viola

Pickup available at Juilliard Store Usually ready in 2 hours

Milhaud 1st Sonata For Viola And Piano

Juilliard Store

Pickup available, usually ready in 2 hours

144 West 66th Street
New York NY 10023
United States

“1st Sonata was written by Darius Milhaud and is based on anonymous tunes of the XVIII century and was dedicated to Germain Prevost. Initially composed for Viola and Orchestra, this score features the Viola and Piano scores. It is composed of four distinct parts: 1. Entrée 2. Française 3. Air 4. Final Fairly difficult, this Sonata can be used for recitals and contests by upper-intermediate players. Born in 1892, Darius Milhaud became a professor at the Paris Conservatoire after the WWII, and composed a wide musical repertoire. One of the characteristic of the music he composed was its polytonality and its numerous influences (mainly French Provence, Jazz, South American and Jewish).”