Skip to content
Mendelssohn Octet, Op. 20 - Parts


Mendelssohn Octet, Op. 20 - Parts

Sale price$61.95
SKU: KM2297

Composer: Felix Mendelssohn

Publisher: Breitkopf & Hartel

Instrument: Mixed

Pickup available at Juilliard Store Usually ready in 2 hours

Mendelssohn Octet, Op. 20 - Parts

Juilliard Store

Pickup available, usually ready in 2 hours

144 West 66th Street
New York NY 10023
United States


for 4 Violins, 2 Violas, 2 Cellos

The work crosses the boundaries from chamber music to orchestral ensemble not only in the form of the famous Scherzo which Mendelssohn expanded through additional wind parts and inserted into the London version of the First Symphony op. 11. A composers note in the printed edition of the parts reads: "This Octet must be played in all parts in the style of a symphony; the Pianos and Fortés must be executed with great precision and shaped more distinctly and individually than is otherwise customary in pieces of this genre." The present new editions of the parts and study score are based on the volume of the Mendelssohn Complete Edition and present an authoritative text based on all major sources.

"It is fitting that Mendelssohn's original publisher, Breitkopf has issued this updated meticulous set of parts together with a handy study score." (Stringendo)