Skip to content
Chopin Waltzes - Chopin National Edition Vol. XI Ekier

Hal Leonard Publishing Corp - 7935

Chopin Waltzes - Chopin National Edition Vol. XI Ekier

Sale price$20.95
SKU: 00132358

Composer: Frederic Chopin

Publisher: Polski Wydawnictwo Muzyczne

Instrument: Piano

Pickup available at Juilliard Store Usually ready in 2 hours

Chopin Waltzes - Chopin National Edition Vol. XI Ekier

Juilliard Store

Pickup available, usually ready in 2 hours

144 West 66th Street
New York NY 10023
United States

"Includes 11 Waltzes published posthumously: A minor, 3 Waltzes in A-flat Major, D-flat Major, E minor, 2 Waltzes in F minor, G-flat Major, and 2 Waltzes in B minor. See 00132358 for the Waltzes published during the composer's lifetime.

The National Edition of the Works of Fryderyk Chopin

Published by PWM

Exclusively Distributed by Hal Leonard Corporation


Jan Ekier and Pawel Kaminski

The objective of the National Edition is to present Chopin's complete output in its authentic form, based on the entire body of available sources. Sources were analyzed with up-to-date scientific and musicological methodology.

The National Edition was based on sources originated from the composer, mainly autographs, copies of autographs and first editions with the composer's corrections, and pupils' copies with Chopin's annotations. In cases when original sources were lacking, the closest possible materials were used. Collecting the source materials was a laborious task which took years of effort.

The characteristics of sources, the links and discrepancies between them as well as the reasons for particular editorial decisions are discussed in the Source Commentary in each volume.

The Performance Commentary appended to each volume includes: the realization of ornaments, comments on pedal markings (the original markings sometimes are inadequate, due to the difference in sound between pianos used in Chopin`s times and modern pianos), suggestions as to the “harmonic legato” (a performance technique often used by Chopin and now forgotten).

About the National Edition

Full Introduction to the National Edition of the Works of Fryderyk Chopin