Skip to content
Stravinsky - Tango for String Quartet


Stravinsky - Tango for String Quartet

Igor Stravinsky

Sale price$28.99
SKU: 49018256
Pickup available at Juilliard Store Usually ready in 2 hours

Stravinsky - Tango for String Quartet

Juilliard Store

Pickup available, usually ready in 2 hours

144 West 66th Street
New York NY 10023
United States

Based on Stravinsky's 1940 piano work of the same name, with included elements from the composer's 1953 chamber ensemble arrangement for 19 instruments.

“Tango (1940) was orginally a work for piano and Stravinsky's first work to be created after his emigration to the United States...Writing in the rather strict confines of the traditional tango form existing at that time, Stravinsky fills the piece with his own unique harmonic language, creating a work that is delightfully quirky, nostalgic, and charming...The voicing is straightforward, and it is easy for all players to feel the groove of the dance rhythm.”--Strings magazine