Skip to content
Defaye Two Dances

Alphonse Leduc

Defaye Two Dances

Jean Michel Defaye

Sale price$28.60
SKU: 48181651
Pickup available at Juilliard Store Usually ready in 2 hours

Defaye Two Dances

Juilliard Store

Pickup available, usually ready in 2 hours

144 West 66th Street
New York NY 10023
United States

Composed by Jean-Michel Defaye in 1954, Two Dances is the piece that put him under the international spotlight. Written for trombone and piano, it quickly became standard for the trombone repertoire and would fit advanced players' skills. The first part, called “Danse Sacrée,” is a slow lyrical melody that is re-used through the piece until the cadenza and the second, “Danse Profane,” has a samba rhythm with a really cheerful end. These two pieces both contain some basics of Jazz. As a pianist, composer, producer and arranger, Jean-Michel Defaye mainly created pieces for brass and wind instruments. He won the Premier Second Grand Prix de Rome in 1958 and the Belgian Queen Elizabeth composition competition in 1959.