Skip to content
Please allow 1-2 days for order processing
Please allow 1-2 days for order processing

Haydn Symphony C Minor Hob. I:95 Orchestra Study Score

SKU 51489063

Editor: Robert v. Zahn

The twelve “London Symphonies” comprise the sublime final statement of Haydn's symphonic ouvre. They were written for the London impresario Johann Peter Salomon, and Haydn himself conducted their premieres during his lengthy stays in the English metropolis in 1791/92 and 1794/95. Probably composed in the winter of 1791/92, the Symphony in D major no. 93 was, with its easily accessible (butby no means simple!) musical structure, perfectly tailored to London tastes, which demanded melodic clarity and expressive pathos. The Baroque echoes of Handel in the slow introduction to the first movement and in the festive mood of the finale with its timpani and trumpets would have been well received - no wonder the symphony had to be repeated multiple times in the same season after its performance in 1792! This study edition adopts the musical text of the Haydn Complete Edition, thereby guaranteeing the highest scholarly quality. An informative preface and a brief Critical Report make the handy score an ideal companion for all current and soon-to-be Haydn fans.